Skip Navigation

Special Event - Measles Symposium - February 9, 2015

Joshua M. Sharfstein, MD

Joshua M. Sharfstein is Associate Dean for Public Health Practice and Training, and faculty in Health Policy and Management at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

As Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene from January 2011 to December 2014, he led efforts to align Maryland’s health care system with improved health outcomes, culminating in the adoption of a revised payment model for all hospital care for Maryland residents. He also oversaw the development of a statewide health improvement process with 18 local public-private coalitions and the reshaping of state’s approach to health information exchange, long-term care, and behavioral health.

From March 2009 to January 2011, Dr. Sharfstein served as Principal Deputy Commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration where he oversaw the agency’s successful performance management and transparency initiatives. From December 2005 to March 2009, as Commissioner of Health for Baltimore City, Dr. Sharfstein led innovative efforts that contributed to major declines in both overdose deaths and infant mortality rates. From July 2001 to December 2005, as minority professional staff and health policy advisor for Congressman Henry A. Waxman, Dr. Sharfstein was engaged in oversight and legislative activities on health care topics.

Dr. Sharfstein graduated from Harvard Medical School in 1996; the Boston Combined Residency Program in Pediatrics at Boston Medical Center and Children’s Hospital in 1999; and the fellowship in general academic pediatrics at the Boston University School of Medicine in 2001.

He is an elected fellow of the Institute of Medicine (2014) and the National Academy of Public Administration (2013). He serves on the Board of Population Health and Public Health Practice of the Institute of Medicine and on the editorial board of the Journal of the American Medical Association. His awards have included the Jay S. Drotman Memorial Award from the American Public Health Association (1994), Public Official of the Year from Governing Magazine (2008) and the Circle of Commendation Award from the Consumer Product Safety Commission (2013).