Skip Navigation

A Century of Saving Lives

Centennial Logo

Join Us In Celebrating
A Century of Saving Lives

1916 ‐ 2016


Read it! 

Just Published!

The book Health and Humanity, new from Johns Hopkins University Press, chronicles five decades of the School's history from 1935 to 1985. 

Learn More

Centennial 100 Dinners
A group dining

We’re inviting alumni, students, faculty and friends of the School to join us for 100 Centennial dinners across the globe.

Learn More
Future of Public Health Graphic

What’s Next? The Future of Public Health

On June 9, 2016, the School envisioned what's ahead in public health.  

Watch a video of the event.

How do you celebrate 100 years of groundbreaking public health?

With an exciting itinerary of programs, festivities and innovative projects to spotlight 100 years of pioneering public health—connecting a century of achievements to the promise of new advances for the next century.

The celebration culminated with a schoolwide Centennial birthday party on June 13, 2016, when the School officially turned 100!

Throughout the Centennial year, which kicked off in the summer of 2015, we've looked back at our historic accomplishments and envisioned a future of public health leadership for the next century, guided by our mission: Protecting Health, Saving Lives—Millions at a Time.

On June 9, 2016,  the future was the sole focus for What's Next? The Future of Public Health. The event gathered some of the nation’s top writers on issues affecting health to share their unique perspectives on what's ahead in pandemics, mental health and social justice, based on their careful study of the issues. If you weren't able to attend, read about the event or watch the video.

Health and Humanity: A History of the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health, 1935-1985, by School historian Karen Kruse Thomas, PhD, was published in June 2016 by Johns Hopkins University Press.

Centennial year events and projects have included the arrival of the Centennial MPH Class of 2016, a Centennial Fun Festival for the School community, special Centennial celebration months for the MPH Program and individual departments, a monthly Centennial Lunch and Learn series and the installation at the School of visually striking Centennial panel displays on the School's history and current work in key public health areas. We also reached our goal of 100 Centennial Dinners around the world in December 2015—way ahead of schedule! But we're not stopping, and faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the School continue to eat their way around the world.


Our Beginnings

The School's story begins on June 13, 1916. William Henry Welch, the first dean of the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and a public health visionary, announced that the University had received a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation to establish the country’s first school of public health: the Johns Hopkins School of Hygiene and Public Health.

With Welch as the School's founding dean, the establishment of the first independent, degree-granting institution for research and training in public health was a catalyzing moment in public health history, a development that would ultimately set the standard for public health education and the profession as a whole.

One hundred years later, we continue to push public health boundaries.

Don’t Miss It

In all, the Centennial year will be a sweeping retrospective of the School’s history, an assessment of its legacy and a vision for its future as a public health pacesetter, guided by the institution’s mission: Protecting Health, Saving Lives—Millions at a Time.

For more information about the Centennial, contact Kyle Rudgers, Centennial project manager, at

Message From the Dean
Dean Klag

“This Centennial will both celebrate the past century of lifesaving contributions by the Bloomberg School and help us chart the next century’s priorities for improving health worldwide.”

Learn More
Centennial Events
Message from the Dean

Celebrations and programs will showcase 100 years of pioneering public health and define the challenges for the next century.

Learn More
Centennial History
Eskridge Lydia Child

Find out more about the Bloomberg School's history-making achievements at the forefront of public health.

Learn More