Building a Better Book

For years Kenrad Nelson, MD, made do with textbooks that weren't quite what he needed for his course in infectious disease epidemiology.

Most of the available infectious disease books expended barrels of ink on infection and treatment of individuals or the examination of organisms from a microbiological or virological perspective. Cursory nods toward epidemiology were made in the form of a few paragraphs here and there. Nelson's students relied on parts of different books, taped lectures, and copies of slide presentations.

Nelson, professor and director of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at the School, finally decided to create the book he needed. The result, Infectious Disease Epidemiology: Theory and Practice, is now used by universities across the United States and has drawn positive reviews from the Journal of the American Medical Association, Clinical Infectious Diseases, and others. The British Medical Association commended it as one of three top public health books in its 2001 book competition.

Neil Graham, MD, MBBS, MPH, a former associate professor at the School, and former student Carolyn Masters Williams, PhD '00, served with Nelson as editors on the book, which was published in 2000 by Aspen Publishers Inc. Most chapters in the book are written by Nelson or colleagues at the School.

"It's been useful for our course and apparently it's been useful for other people," says Nelson, noting that the book is being used in courses at Harvard, Yale, Emory, and other universities.

Tobacco Control Award Winner and Other Honors

Jonathan Samet, MD, MS, chair of Epidemiology and the Jacob and Irene Fabrikant Professor in Health, Risk, and Society, has been awarded the Joseph W. Cullen Memorial Award from the American Society of Preventive Oncology for his work in tobacco control. Samet has studied the health effects of active and passive smoking, contributed as editor and author to numerous reports on smoking published by the Surgeon General, the National Cancer Institute, and the World Health Organization, and testified in key litigation, including Minnesota's landmark tobacco case in 1998.

Constance A. Nathanson, PhD, professor, Department of Population and Family Health Sciences, was selected as one of 30 investigators for the New Century Scholars, a new initiative of the U.S. Fulbright Program. The focus of the NCS program's first year is "Challenges of Health in a Borderless World."

Scott Zeger, PhD, professor and chair of the Department of Biostatistics, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Zeger was cited for his contributions to statistical methodology, analysis of longitudinal data, and leadership in the statistical community through research, teaching, and professional activities.

Corinne Shefner, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Population and Family Health Sciences, won the top award for a student paper from the International Communication Association's Health Communication Division.

Allison Fryer, PhD, associate professor, Environmental Health Sciences (EHS), has been appointed associate editor of the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine.

Timothy Buckley, PhD, MHS '86, assistant professor, EHS, has been appointed to the Integrated Human Exposure Committee of the Science Advisory Board of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).

Jonathan Patz, MD, MPH '92, assistant professor, EHS, was named one of the convening lead authors on the United Nations' "Millennium Ecosystem Assessment," which will study the link between changing ecosystems and public health.

M. Gordon "Reds" Wolman, PhD, professor and director of the Division of Environmental Health Engineering in EHS, was elected for induction into the National Academy of Engineering.

Tomas Guilarte, PhD '80, professor, EHS, has been appointed to the editorial board of Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology.

Moyses Szklo, MD, professor, Epidemiology, has been elected vice president of the American Public Health Association.

Giovanni Parmigiani, PhD, associate professor of Bio-statistics and Oncology, is the author of a recently published book, Modeling in Medical Decision Making: A Bayesian Approach (John Wiley, 2002).

James Yager, PhD, senior associate dean for academic affairs, and professor, EHS, has been appointed to the EPA's National Advisory Council for Environmental Policy and Technology's subcommittee on "Endocrine disruption methods validation" by EPA administrator, Christine Todd Whitman.

In This Issue of Johns Hopkins Public Health Magazine:

Copyright 2002, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. All rights reserved.