Please join the Johns Hopkins International Injury Research Unit as we recognize three of our students for receiving International Health Endowed Awards.
Ashai Jafri, PhD, Health Systems, is the recipient of the Robert D. and Helen S. Wright Fund. Established in 1983 by family members of former International Health faculty member, Robert Wright, MD, MPH ’40, this scholarship provides support for a continuing doctoral student who expects to contribute to the improvement of public health in Africa, particularly Nigeria.


Katherine Allen, PhD, Health Systems, received the Baker, Reinke, Taylor Scholarship in International Health. Established in 2004, this scholarship commemorates over 100 combined years of dedicated public health service by Drs. Timothy D. Baker, William Reinke and Carl E. Taylor, who were instrumental in establishing the field of international health as a distinct discipline. This fund supports graduate students in the Department of International Health, with preference given to students working in organization of health delivery systems, community based healthcare or injury control in less developed countries.


Selena J. An, MSPH, Health Systems, is the recipient of the Diana Hess Memorial Fund.  Also established in 1983, this fund provides an annual scholarship to students in the Department of International Health and is based on academic and professional accomplishments. Preference is given to those planning to work in Africa, but is not a requirement for the award.


Additionally, Qingfeng Li, research assistant with JH-IIRU, has also been selected to receive an additional year of support from the Endowed Student Support Fund award. 


The Endowed Students Support Fund Awards are highly competitive and we wish to congratulate all recipients for their hard work and accomplishments.
For additional information on all student scholarships, click here: