Skip Navigation

Institute for Global Tobacco Control

JHSPH Scholars Program


The JHSPH Scholars Program was formally launched on Tuesday, March 28, 2017, with more than 600 Leadership and Certificate Program alumni from the 10 Bloomberg Initiative priority countries receiving invitations to apply. This 11-month initiative is aimed at enriching leadership skills among selected alumni of JHSPH Tobacco Control Leadership and Certificate Programs and applying those skills to resolve tobacco control-related problems that are consistent with the priorities of the Bloomberg Initiative to Reduce Tobacco Use and of interest to the applicant and their organization.

The program focuses on:


2022-2023 Selected Scholars

NameTitle, Organization, and Country

Khandaker Reaz Hossain

Director, Programs Organization: Grambangla Unnayan Committee (GUC), Bangladesh

Yogesh Kumar Jain

Project Manager at School of Public Health, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Jodhpur, India

Sumedha Kushwaha

PhD Scholar, Temerty Faculty of Medicine, Institute of Medical Sciences, University of Toronto, India

Larissa Al-Uar

Secretary General, Tobacco Free Jordan 

Muhammad Abdullah Amin

Advocate High Court, M Amin Law Chambers, Pakistan

Waseem Iftikhar Janjua

National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST), Pakistan

2021-2022 Selected Scholars

NameTitle, Organization, and Country

Eby Aluckal

Associate Professor/Coordinator of the Tobacco Intervention Initiative Cell, Department of Public Health Dentistry, Mar Baselios Dental College, India

Laura de Souza Cury

International Relations Advisor, ACT Health Promotion, Brazil

Aminul Islam

Program Officer, National Tobacco Control Cell, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Bangladesh

Rajeev Kumar

Project Coordinator, Department of Community Medicine & School of Public Health, PGIMER Chandigarh, India

Jasmin Paraiso Lagahit

Project Manager, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority, Philippines

Mariana Coutinho Marques de Pinho

Tobacco Project Coordinator, ACT Health Promotion, Brazil

Samra Mazhar

Deputy Director, Ministry of National Health Services, Regulation and Coordination, Pakistan

Md Bazlur Rahman

Associate Professor and Director of Tobacco Control and Research Cell, Dhaka International University, Bangladesh

Waqas Rashid

Deputy Commissioner, Civil Service of Pakistan (Pakistan Administrative Service), Pakistan

Prashant Shirke

Dentist/Consultant on Tobacco Cessation/Director, Sangeeta Darvekar Charitable Trust, India

2020-2021 Selected Scholars

NameTitle, Organization, and Country

Malik Imran Ahmad

Country Representative, Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids, Pakistan

Sehar Alamgir

Assistant Director, Ministry of National Health Services Regulation & Coordination, Pakistan

Wenzhuo Liang

Communications Officer, Vital Strategies, China

Muhammad Saeedullah Khan Niazi

Joint Secretary, Ministry of National Health Services Regulation & Coordination, Pakistan

Kamlesh Kumar Babulal Parmar

Program Officer, State Tobacco Control Cell, Government of Gujarat, India

Faizur Rahman

Additional Deputy Police Commissioner, Dhaka Metropolitan Police, Bangladesh

Adriana Rocha

Director, Polithink, Mexico

Susy Sebayang

Lecturer, Airlangga University, Indonesia

Sheikh Mohammad Mahbubus Sobhan

Registrar, National Heart Foundation Hospital & Research Institute, Bangladesh

Joao Ricardo Rodrigues Viegas

National Cancer Institute (INCA), Brazil

2019-2020 Selected Scholars

NameTitle, Organization, and Country
Inti BarrientosResearcher, Instituto Nacional de Salud Publica, Mexico
Sonu GoelAdditional Professor, Post Graduate Institute of Medical Education and Research, India
Muhammad JavedProject Manager, Tobacco Control Cell, Government of Pakistan
Santi MartiniLecturer and Vice Dean of Academic Affairs, Universitas Airlangga, Indonesia
An Thi NguyenCountry Director, HealthBridge, Vietnam
Muhammad Hasan ShahriarHead of Tobacco Control Program, PROGGA, Bangladesh
Nasruddin Djoko SuryonoDeputy Director of Customs and Excise Policy, Ministry of Finance, Indonesia
Xiaojing WangDeputy Director, Tobacco Control and Road Safety, Vital Strategies, China

2018-2019 Selected Scholars

NameTitle, Organization, and Country
Cyril AlexanderExecutive Director, Mary Anna Charity Trust, India
Maria Loida AlzonaDirector, Metro Manila Development Authority, Philippines
Gay ArdanasMunicipal Health Office, Municipal Health Department- Talisayan, Philippines
Mouhamad BigwantoProject Coordinator, South East Asia Tobacco Control Alliance, Indonesia
Khurram HashmiNational Coordinator, Coalition for Tobacco Control, Pakistan
Shamimul IslamProgram Manager, Bangladesh Center for Communications Programs, Bangladesh
Sitanshu KarAdditional Professor, Jawaharlal Institute of Postgraduate Medical Education and Research, India
ABM ZubairExecutive Director, PROGGA, Bangladesh


2017-2018 Selected Scholars

NameTitle, Organization, and Country
Jose Enrique GarciaCongressman, Bataan, Philippines
Mahfuzul HuqNational Professional Officer, WHO Country Office, Bangladesh
Ziauddin IslamDirector, National Tobacco Control Cell, Pakistan
Ashish PandeyTechnical Officer, Tobacco Control, The Union, India
Andriy SkipalskyiExecutive Director, Life, Ukraine
Bach TranAssociate Professor, Hanoi University, Vietnam
Xia WanAssociate Professor, Peking Medical University, China