Skip Navigation

Office of Student Life

Diversity Summer Internship Program (DSIP) Faculty Information

DSIP 2017 Call for Faculty Mentors, Projects, and Speakers

Faculty support is critical to the success of  the Diversity Summer Internship Program. We are currently seeking faculty mentors and projects for the summer of 2017. The program runs May 30 -August 4, 2017.  Faculty from across all departments in the Bloomberg School of Public Health are invited to submit proposals, using the Project Proposal Form, now through February 6, 2017. Examples of project duties include:

While exact hours may vary, interns are expected to work 35-40 hours/week on their research project. In addition, interns attend mandatory Monday seminars, complete weekly assignments, draft a research paper, prepare and execute an oral presentation, and design a research poster. For more information about mentor expectations, click here.

Funding an intern is not a requirement for DSIP faculty but in order to help us fill all projects and provide the most opportunities, we welcome financial contributions when available. Some faculty members may also be eligible for Diversity Supplement support from the NIH.

Guest Speakers Needed

Faculty in the Bloomberg School of Public Health are also invited to participate in DSIP by presenting their work (60-90 minutes) during Monday morning seminars throughout the program beginning the first week of June. Interested faculty can email Jessica Harrington with preferred dates and topic information.

For more information about the Diversity Summer Internship Program contact Jessica Harrington in the Office of Student Life.

2016 DSIP Faculty Participants

The Diversity Summer Internship Program is grateful for support from the following faculty who supported DSIP 2016 as mentors and/or guest speakers:

Mario Caturegli

Lawrence Cheskin

Daniela Cihakova

Joanna Cohen

Mary Cwik

Meghan Davis

Barbara Detrick

Marie Diener-West

Joel Gittelsohn

Abdel Hamad

Miranda Jones

Norma Kanarek

Petros Karakousis

Ryan Kennedy

Beth Marshall

Keshia Pollack

Tanjala  Purnell

Josh Sharfstein

Winnie Tang

Roland Thorpe

Michael Trush

Terrinieka Williams Powell

Zhibin Wang