Skip Navigation

IDARE | Office of Inclusion, Diversity, Anti-Racism, and Equity

The Committee on Equity, Diversity, and Civility

The Committee on Equity, Diversity, and Civility is made up of students, faculty, and staff at the School. In cooperation with the IDARE Office, the Committee acts as an advising body for diverse equity-related initiatives at the Bloomberg School and in the Baltimore community.

The Committee organizes IDARE events, meets with local community organizations, and engages the school's leadership to recommend policies and procedures related to diversity and inclusion at the School.

The Committee is also responsible for monitoring compliance with policies related to recruitment, promotion, tenure, salary equity, termination, and equal program accessibility and opportunity for faculty, staff, and students.

The Committee's responsibilities include:

  • Recommending and promoting policies and programs that will attract and retain a diverse mix of faculty, staff and students
  • Examining formal and informal structures and processes to identify and address impediments to inclusion
  • Identifying constraints and barriers to affirmative action and equal opportunity and assure that the Bloomberg School’s affirmative action and equal opportunity policies and procedures are being used appropriately and judiciously
  • Benchmarking diversity and inclusion at the school via periodic reporting
  • Promoting and supporting diversity awareness School-wide
  • Forming subcommittees to address specific short- or long-term issues identified as relevant to the charge of the Committee

Committee membership

Members of the Committee are appointed by the dean of the Bloomberg School and meet at least nine times each year.

At least six of these individuals are faculty members of various academic ranks. The remainder of the Committee members includes at least three students, at least two staff members, a representative from the Johns Hopkins University whose responsibilities include institutional equity, and a representative of the dean’s office.

The latter two members serve in an ex officio capacity. Bloomberg School faculty, staff, and students who are members of the University's Diversity Leadership Council are also appointed to the Committee.

2020-2021 MEMBERSHIP


  • Renee M. Johnson, PhD
    Associate Professor, Mental Health
  • Rosemary Morgan, PhD
    Assistant Scientist, International Health


  • Susan Williams
    Office of the Dean

Ex-Officio Member

  • Joel I. Bolling, MA
    Assistant Dean for Inclusion, Anti-Racism, and Equity (IDARE)


  • Kelsey Babik, MPH
    President-Elect, Student Assembly
  • Morgan Beckett
    Student Assembly 
  • Nanette Bell
    Senior Administrative Coordinator, Biostatistics
  • Otis W. Brawley, MD
    Professor, Epidemiology
  • Alan Goldberg, PhD
    Professor-Emeritus, Environmental Health and Engineering
  • Yasmine Issah
    Student Assembly
  • Aisha Liman
    Student Assembly
  • Priya Khetan
    President, Student Assembly
  • Akash Malhotra
    Student Assembly
  •  Debra Mathews
    Associate Professor, Berman Institute of Bioethics
  • Kate Mieth
    Student Assembly
  • Terri Powell, PhD
    Associate Professor, Population, Family, and Reproductive Health
  • Michelle Spencer, MS
    Associate Director, Bloomberg American Health Initiative
  • Associate Scientist, Health Policy and Management
  • Roland J. Thorpe, Jr., PhD
    Professor, Health, Behavior and Society
  • Lisa Walborn
    Administrator, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology 
  • Interim Administrator, Environmental Health and Engineering
  • Toni Doherty
    Academic Coordinator, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology