Skip Navigation


Dean Michael Klag ACP Award

The American College of Physicians recognizes Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH ’87, for leadership and achievements in preventive medicine.

ACP Awardees

The 133,000-member American College of Physicians (ACP) on April 11 honored Dean Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH ’87, with one of its most prestigious awards in recognition of his pioneering work and research in the prevention of cardiovascular and kidney disease.

Klag accepted the James D. Bruce Memorial Award for Distinguished Contributions in Preventive Medicine in San Francisco at the ACP's Convocation Ceremony.

Past recipients of the Award include Jonas Salk and Albert Sabin, developers of the two polio vaccines; Caroline Bedell Thomas, whose landmark Hopkins Precursor Study of disease risk factors Klag now oversees; and former Bloomberg School Dean D.A. Henderson and William Foege, who are credited with eradicating smallpox.

The Award is named after one of the ACP's most accomplished leaders, a former governor, regent and president of the national medical organization of internists. It honors physicians based on their sustained contributions to advancing the science of prevention to avert illness and save lives at the population level.

A faculty member since 1987 and dean since 2005, Klag is a world-renowned kidney disease epidemiologist whose work has focused on the prevention and epidemiology of kidney disease, hypertension and cardiovascular disease. His research has also broadened the understanding of how health characteristics and behaviors in young adulthood influence health and disease later in life.