Skip Navigation


August 25, 2003

Two School Professors Recognized by APHA

Bernard Guyer

Bernard Guyer, MD

The American Public Health Association has recognized two professors from the Department of Population and Family Health Sciences with achievement awards. Bernard Guyer, MD, the School’s Zanvyl Krieger Professor of Children's Health and chair of the department, is the recipient of 2003 Martha May Eliot Award. The award recognizes exceptional achievements in the field of maternal and child health.

Laurie Schwab Zabin, PhD

APHA also named Laurie Schwab Zabin, PhD, as this year’s recipient of the Carl S. Schultz Award. Dr. Zabin is a professor in the department and founding director of the Bill and Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health. The Carl S. Schultz Award recognizes distinguished service in the field of population and family planning health.

Public Affairs Media Contacts for the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health: Tim Parsons or Kenna Brigham at 410-955-6878 or