Skip Navigation

Faculty Directory

Jeffrey P. Michael, EdD

  • Distinguished Scholar

Departmental Affiliations

Center & Institute Affiliations

Contact Information

624 N. Broadway
Hampton House 544
Baltimore, Maryland 21205

View Current Courses


EdD, University of West Virginia, 1988
BA, San Francisco State University, 1984


Dr. Michael is an accomplished national and international leader with demonstrated leadership in analysis, development and implementation of programs to improve road safety – both in the United States and in other nations. As the Leon S. Robertson Faculty Development Chair in Injury Prevention, Dr. Michael’s current research focuses on the development of strategies for utilizing emerging mobility technologies to improve safety and reduce health disparities. The combination of artificial intelligence, shared rides and electric vehicles is predicted to transform mobility patterns in the next decade. Inherent in this transformation is the potential to deliver mobility services to populations that have historically suffered from limited access to health care, nutritious food and economic opportunities. However, the prevailing market-driven mobility movement is unlikely to reach these underserved populations absent a deliberate scientific and policy initiative dedicated to this purpose. As Coordinator of the New Mobility Initiative within the Center, Dr. Michael is leading an effort to develop evidence-based policy models to steer the deployment of New Mobility products and services for public health benefit. The New Mobility Initiative is working closely with the City of Baltimore to conduct and evaluate mobility experiments and policy evaluations.

Honors and Awards

Leon S. Robertson Faculty Development Chair in Injury Prevention, 2019 - 2022

Administrators Appreciation Award for Innovative Leadership, December 2016

Secretary’s Transportation Safety Award for Safety Posture, October 2016

Secretary’s Gold Medal Award for Outstanding Achievement, October 2016

Secretary’s Partnering for Excellence Award, October 2016

Secretary’s Transportation Safety Award, December 2010

Secretary’s Team Award for Child Safety, November 2008

American Trauma Society Distinguished Achievement Award, April 2004

Friends of EMS Award, National Association of EMS Physicians, January 2003

Resolution of Esteem and Affection, National Association of State EMS Directors, January 2003

  • mobility
  • public health
  • motor vehicle
  • road safety
  • equity

Dr. Michael is principal government author for a wide range of safety guidance documents published through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, such as:

  • Road to Zero: A Vision for Achieving Zero Roadway Deaths by 2050, published in 2018
  • Governance of Traffic Safety in an Automated Vehicle Environment, Proceedings of Conference at United Nations in Geneva, Switzerland, published in 2017
  • Concussions in Motor Vehicle Crashes, Linking Engineering and Science, National Academies of Science Engineering and Medicine, published in The Bridge in 2016
  • Governance of the Safety of Automated Vehicles, Proceedings of Conference at Stanford University, published in 2016
  • Role of Drug Testing Technology in Impaired Driving Prevention, December 2012
  • Ensuring Child Safety in For-Hire Rideshare Vehicles
  • New Mobility Initiative