Skip Navigation

Population, Family and Reproductive Health

PFRH Newsletter Fall 2017

Welcome to the fall 2017 edition of PFRH e-news!  After bidding a fond farewell to our 2017 graduates, PFRH has had a busy summer preparing to welcome 16 new masters students and 6 new doctoral students.   We are also delighted to welcome back our returning students and to extend a warm welcome to Dr. Lori Heise who joins the PFRH faculty in September.  Lori is a world-renowned expert in gender-based violence and will hold a joint appointment in PFRH and in the Department of Community Public Health in the School of Nursing. 

The department has two new faculty searches under way.  Dr. Duff Gillespie is leading the search for a senior adolescent health faculty who will assume leadership of the Center for Adolescent Health and also have the opportunity to be part of the Bloomberg American Health Initiative.   Dr. David Paige is leading a junior faculty search focused on recruitment that enables us to fulfill our department mission.  Campus visits and seminars led by the candidates have begun and will continue into the fall.

I also am thrilled to announce the establishment of the Dr. Richard A Windsor Endowed Scholarship Fund, which will support PFRH students who are committed to improving the health of pregnant women and infants in the United States.  Dr. Windsor is a graduate of the MPH program at Hopkins.  He has been a leader in MCH research, education and practice globally having begun his faculty career at Johns Hopkins before being recruited to the University of Alabama, George Washington University and the University of Alaska-Anchorage.  He also served in leadership positions at NHLBI and as a consultant to WHO, CDC and ministries of health.  When we recently met, Dr. Windsor impressed upon me how his MPH experiences greatly impacted his career trajectory. I am confident that this generous gift will similarly influence generations of future public health scholars.

To learn about some of the ongoing work of in PFRH, I encourage you to read further. Will learn about exciting projects lead by Stephane Helleringer and Michele Decker as well as new initiatives in some of the Centers and large initiatives in PFRH.  As always, I welcome your input and am most appreciative of your ongoing support of our department and all you do to support the health of populations across the life course.

Cynthia Minkovitz


Cynthia Minkovitz, MD, MPP
William H. Gates, Sr. Professor and Chair
Population, Family and Reproductive Health