Skip Navigation

International Health

Kruse Awards Ceremony in Human Nutrition

Inaugural Kruse Alumni Research-to-Policy Achievement Award in Human Nutrition

Mary Cogswell, RN, DrPH ’92

The Department’s Center for Human Nutrition hosted the Inaugural Kruse Awards Ceremony and seminar in Human Nutrition, at which Dr. Mary “Molly” Edmonds Cogswell received the first Kruse Alumni Research-to-Policy Award in Human Nutrition. The award was founded by Doug Kruse and his wife Betty Whelchel to recognize significant contributions in translating nutrition science into programs and policies to protect population health. 

Kruse Awards
From left to right: Professor Keith West, Dr. Molly Cogswell, and Dr. Doug Kruse who presented the first Kruse Alumni Research-to-Policy Achievement Award to Cogswell.

Dr. Cogswell received her DrPH from the Department and since then has been working as a nutritional epidemiologist with an outstanding track record of translating science into practice. She is currently a senior scientist at the CDC where she’s been a leader and innovator in building the scientific and policy foundation for promoting the reduction of sodium consumed by people. According to the Director of the Division of Heart and Stroke Prevention at the CDC, Dr. Barbara Bowman, she was instrumental in the inclusion of a measurement tool to monitor population-level sodium intake. This was one of her many contributions in addition to her leadership that have helped build an evidence base for policymakers to make key decisions on sodium labeling and intake recommendations.  

Dr. Cogswell presented a seminar on “Sodium Reduction in the United States: From Science to Policy.” The presentation surveyed the science behind the public health actions to reduce excessive sodium intake in the United States. It also covered what was and wasn’t known about sodium intake as well as current controversies surrounding current guidelines. Dr. Kruse and Professor Keith West, director of the Center and Program in Human Nutrition in the Department, then presented her with the inaugural award. “We deeply appreciate the commitment of the Kruse family to excellence in public health nutrition research and practice while students are at Johns Hopkins, and now in their careers as alumni,” West said.   

The Harry D Kruse Fellowships and the Harry D Kruse Publication Awards in Nutrition

The Kruse family also makes two other nutrition awards possible. These awards honor the work and memory of Doug’s father, Harry D Kruse. Harry, a protégé of EV McCullum, received his ScD from Hopkins in 1926 and became a distinguished member of the Department of Biochemistry. After leaving the University, he became the Executive Secretary of the NY Academy of Medicine where he published an impressive body of work.  

Since 1987, the Center for Human Nutrition has awarded the Harry D Kruse Fellowship to support doctoral candidates in nutrition who display outstanding achievement and promise (Dr. Cogswell was its 1989 recipient). And since 2010, the Kruse Publication Awards have provided incentive for program students to publish their nutrition research in a peer-reviewed journal prior to graduation. 

Harry D Kruse Publication Award

Harry D Kruse Fellowship

Rebecca K. Campbell, MSPH, PhD student
Hannah Lee Coakley, MSPH ‘13
Yichen Jin, MSPH ‘14, CPH
Anna Y. Kharmats, MA, PhD student
Vanessa M. Oddo, MPH, PhD student
Elisa L. Pehlke, MSPH ‘13 
Melissa Sattler, MSPH / RD student
Julie Ruel-Bergeron, MPH, PhD student
Zaynah Chowdhury, MPH, PhD student
Leslie Redmond, MS, RD, PhD student