Skip Navigation

International Health

Kruse Awards Ceremony in Human Nutrition

Kruse Alumni Research-to-Policy Achievement Award in Human Nutrition

Nils Daulaire, MD, MPH ‘78

The Department’s Center for Human Nutrition hosted the Kruse Awards Ceremony and seminar in Human Nutrition, at which Nils Daulaire, MD, MPH ‘78 received the Kruse Alumni Research-to-Policy Award in Human Nutrition. The award was founded by Doug Kruse and his wife Betty Whelchel to recognize significant contributions in translating nutrition science into programs and policies to protect population health. 

Kruse Awards

From left to right: Michael Klag, Jillian Emerson, Julie Ruel-Bergeron, Yeeli Mui, Mary Taylor, Nils Daulaire, Hyunju Kim, Bess Caswell, Douglas Kruse, Nadine Budd, Angela Trude, Keith West. Photo credit: Katie Healy

The Harry D Kruse Fellowships and the Harry D Kruse Publication Awards in Nutrition

The Kruse family also makes two other nutrition awards possible. These awards honor the work and memory of Doug’s father, Harry D Kruse. Harry, a protégé of EV McCullum, received his ScD from Hopkins in 1926 and became a distinguished member of the Department of Biochemistry. After leaving the University, he became the Executive Secretary of the NY Academy of Medicine where he published an impressive body of work.  

Since 1987, the Center for Human Nutrition has awarded the Harry D Kruse Fellowship to support doctoral candidates in nutrition who display outstanding achievement and promise (Dr. Cogswell was its 1989 recipient). And since 2010, the Kruse Publication Awards have provided incentive for program students to publish their nutrition research in a peer-reviewed journal prior to graduation. 

Harry D Kruse Student Publication Award

Harry D Kruse Student Fellowship

Bess Caswell
Jillian Emerson
Eunkyung Han
Yeeli Mui
Julie Ruel-Bergeron
Angela Trude
Jillian Emerson
Hyunju Kim