Skip Navigation


Epidemiology Student Organization

Department of Epidemiology students, faculty and staff

The Epidemiology Student Organization (ESO) was established in 1982 to facilitate student-to-student and student-to-faculty communication in the department and to advocate for student needs. The organization is comprised of all students associated with the Department of Epidemiology. It is a forum for planning various student activities, ranging from volunteer opportunities to social activities. Elections are typically held in May for the upcoming academic year. 

The organization is open to new ideas and initiatives from the student body, and all students are encouraged to actively participate in ESO activities. ESO meetings are open to all students and are held on the first Monday of the month from 12:15-1:20 p.m.

Student RoomEpi Student Room

The Student Room is located in the Wolfe Street building, W6309, 410-614-1424.

All degree students in the department may obtain access to the Student Room using their ID badges by emailing  

Managed by the ESO, the room is equipped with several computers connected to the school's network. Students typically use the space for studying and holding informal meetings. Dissertations, master's theses (prior to 2013) and recent issues of the American Journal of Public Health, JAMA, LancetNew England Journal of Medicine and Science are available, as well as a mini-lending library of key texts. 

ESO Chairs and Representatives for

Co-Presidents - Neia Prata Menezes and Amrita Rao 

Admissions and Credentials Committee Representative - Mingyu Zhang

Alumni Chair - Shutong Du

Curriculum Committee Representatives - Emaan Rashidi (masters) and Kyra Grantz (doctoral)

Doctoral Student Representatives - Ellen Howerton and Carrie Lyons

Doctoral Student Representatives to School-wide Council - Riaz Qureshi and Amelia Wallace

Funding Chairs - Yanjun (Molly) Duan and Sel Hwahng

International Students Chairs - Taeeun Kwon and Sakshi Tewari

Masters Student Representatives - Alex Buben and Alexandra Mueller

Service Chairs -  Diefei Chen and You Wang

Social Chairs - Eshan Patel and Austin Weynand

Social Media and Website Chair - Kayte Andersen

Sports Chair - Gabrielle Garruppo

Student Assembly Representative - Yuehan (Jenny) Zhang

Student Representative for Faculty Meetings - Frances Wang

Student Room and Bulletin Boards Chairs - Louie Gold

TA Training Chair - Filip Pirsl