Skip Navigation

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Frederik Bang Award

This annual cash award was established in 1982 in memory of Dr. Frederik B. Bang, chair of the department of Pathobiology from 1953 to 1981, to recognize a student from any department of the Bloomberg School who has passed his or her preliminary oral examination and is engaged in doctoral research on a topic relevant to pathobiology.

Selection of a winner is made by a special committee and is based on the scientific merit of the student applicant's research topic. The committee consists of two faculty members from the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, and a faculty member from another department in the School. Applications are due in March of each year, and applicants may be interviewed by the committee.

The recipient presents a departmental seminar at the conclusion of his/her research.

The recepients of the Frederik Bang Award in the BMB department are:

2008Jolyn GisselbergPrigge Lab
2009Jianmei ZhuMatunis Lab
2010Heather NewmanMatunis Lab
2011Brian RoelofsHardwick Lab
2011Caelin PottsMatunis Lab
2015Eric SimkoWang Lab
2017Christine LeeMatunis Lab