Skip Navigation

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Delta Omega Society

Delta Omega Alpha Chapter is a national honor society that aims to encourage excellence in research, scholarship and practice among students taking graduate study in public health and to recognize attainment in the field of public health.

Delta Omega was founded in 1924 at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health (now the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health) to promote excellence and to recognize accomplishment in scholarship and research. Since the establishment of the Alpha Chapter at Johns Hopkins, the Society has expanded nationally to 59 local chapters with about 6,000 members. A National Executive Council, consisting of elected officers and delegates from the local chapters, administers the affairs of Delta Omega.

The Society is governed by a constitution and set of bylaws.

This fellowship limits its membership to public health faculty, students and alumni. Each candidate must also meet membership criteria as set forth in the constitution and bylaws. The Society accepts only students meeting high academic standards. All candidates must also demonstrate a potential for making significant contributions to the field of public health.

The recent inductees in the Delta Omega Society include:

Priti Harish Patel, M.D.2000MHS student
Sunil Nayak, Ph.D.2000Ph.D. student
Dr. Michelle D. Lall2003Ph.D. student
Ms. Lily L. Somwaru2003MHS student
Gromoslaw A. Smolen, Ph.D.2003Ph.D. student
Mr. Eugene Oh2003MHS student
Mr. Cameron B. Culver2007MHS student
Elizabeth Ketner, M.D.2007MHS student
Ms. Jessica Shiu2007MHS student
Archana Srinivas2009MHS student
Mehmet C. Uluer, M.D.2009MHS student
Ms. Supriya Jain2009MHS student
Mr. Shahed S. Alam2010MHS student
Mr. Rajiv M. Mallipudi2010MHS student
Mr. Jeffrey B. Yu2011MHS student
Dorothy A. Knutsen2011MHS student
Mona Rezapour, M.D.2012MHS student
Ms. Arissa M. Torrie2012MHS student
Hana Odeh2012ScM student
Brent Colin Monseur 2012ScM student
Dennis Orkoulas-Razis2014MHS student
Joseph G. Nugent2015MHS student
Cristi L. O'Connor2015MHS student
Mr. Jason C. Hirshberg2016MHS student
Mr. Shae I. Rowlandson2016MHS student
Rose Sabrina Schrott2017MHS student
Joseph Yuhung Shen2017MHS student

For more information please visit the alumni association.