Skip Navigation

A Century of Saving Lives

Your Centennial Planning Committees

The official Centennial planning efforts began in the fall of 2011 with the formation of the Centennial Advisory Committee, chaired by Margaret Conn Himelfarb, MPH ’04, a member of the School’s Health Advisory Board (HAB).

Through its diverse public health, management, investment, marketing, communications and leadership skills, this group guided our early efforts and led us throughout the Centennial year.

The Centennial Working Committee, including HAB members, volunteers, faculty, students, alumni and staff, was convened in the fall of 2012 to launch phase two of Centennial planning.

The group held more than 100 meetings and other information-gathering activities to solicit Centennial ideas. Organizers then pared them down to an exciting centenary agenda based on the suggestions of faculty, staff, students, alumni and donors.

We are grateful to everyone who has generously given their time and effort to make the historic celebration a reality, and we offer special thanks to the Centennial planning leadership for their dedication to the School and commitment to its mission.

HAB Centennial Advisory Committee

Dean Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH ’87
Margaret Conn Himelfarb, MPH ’04, Chair
Ashok K. Agarwal, MD, MPH ’83
Sylvia Brown
George L. Bunting, Jr.
Catharine C. (Kit) Dorrier
Manfred Eggersdorfer, MD
Irene Frary
Donald A. Henderson, MD, MPH ’60
Kathy Ludwig
Christopher I.M. Jones
The Honorable James A. Joseph
Karl P. Ronn
Susan L. Sperry, Staff Liaison


Centennial Working Committee

Dean Michael J. Klag, MD, MPH ’87
Margaret Conn Himelfarb, MPH ’04, Chair
Catharine C. (Kit) Dorrier
Suzanne (Suzie) Wolff
Andrea Gielen, ScD ’89, ScM ’79, Faculty Representative
Nikolas Matthes, MD, PhD, MPH ’98, Alumni Representative
Cherita Hobbs, Staff Representative, Sr. Director Human Resources
Felicity Turner, Staff Representative, Director of International and Continuing Education
Susan Sperry, Staff Liaison, Sr. Director Communications and Marketing
Karen Thomas, PhD, School Historian and Development Writer
Stephen Bloom, MPH/MBA Student Representative
Rebecca Carriero, Bloomberg Philanthropies
Heath A. Elliott, Associate Dean of External Affairs
Katie Kuhns, PhD, Student Representative


100 Dinners Steering Committee

Nikolas Matthes, MD, PhD, MPH '98, Chair
Margaret Conn Himelfarb, MPH '04
Lawrence Loh, MD, MPH '10
Anna Davis, JD, MPH '07
Brian Crawford, PhD '82
Willy Lescano, PhD '08
Kelika Konda, PhD '10
Fadia Shaya, PhD '94


Former Centennial Committee Members

Josh Else, Associate Dean of External Affairs
Jose Miguel Flores, Student Representative
Andrew Pike, Student Representative
Sivabalan (Siva) Manivannan, Student Representative
Varshini Varadaraj, MPH Student Representative