Skip Navigation

Dean Ellen J. MacKenzie

A Life in Public Health


Dean Ellen J. MacKenzie is one of the foremost experts in the field of trauma services and outcomes research.

She is a longtime member of the Bloomberg School faculty and has authored more than 240 publications. A biostatistician by training, MacKenzie’s lifelong work evaluating and improving patient outcomes following trauma has helped define the field.

Highlights of her influential career include:

  • 2018

    Elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

  • 2017

    Appointed 11th Dean of the Bloomberg School.

  • 2017

    Named a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor in recognition of her interdisciplinary achievements in trauma care and rehabilitation and in support of her continued work in the area.

  • 2012

    Honored by the CDC as one of 20 leaders and visionaries who have made a transformative effect on the field of violence and injury prevention.

  • 2009

    With funding from the Department of Defense, established the Major Extremity Trauma Research Consortium (METRC), a research network of more than 50 civilian and military trauma centers around the country—the largest effort of its kind in trauma.

  • 2007

    Authored the National Study on the Costs and Outcomes of Trauma Care (NSCOT), a widely cited study showing that a person’s risk of dying from a major trauma was reduced by 25 percent if treated in a trauma center versus a non-trauma center.

  • 2005

    Elected President of the American Trauma Society.

  • 2005

    Named Fred and Julie Soper Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Bloomberg School.

  • 2003

    Presented with the Ann Doner Vaughan Kappa Delta Award from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons for her work on the Lower Extremity Assessment Project (LEAP)—a study that has had a major influence on the field of trauma orthopedics, resulting in over 35 scientific publications.

  • 1996

    Served as senior associate dean for academic affairs at the Bloomberg School through 2000.

  • 1994

    Named Honorary Fellow of the American Association for Surgery of Trauma.

  • 1994

    Named director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy, a position she held for 11 years.

  • 1993

    Elected President of the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine.

  • 1989

    With Dorothy Rice, authored The Cost of Injury in the United States, a comprehensive effort to estimate the direct and indirect costs of injury. This book was, for many years, the principal resource on the subject.

  • 1979

    Awarded PhD in Biostatistics from the Bloomberg School; joined the Bloomberg School faculty.

  • 1975

    Earned ScM in Biostatistics from the Bloomberg School.