Skip Navigation

Dr. Lisa Cooper Wins AHA Award

Dr. CooperCore faculty member Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH, the James F. Fries Professor of Medicine, is the inaugural recipient of the American Heart Association’s Watkins-Saunders Award. The award was presented to her at the recent Baltimore Heart Ball. The award recognizes excellence in clinical, medical, and community work focused on diminishing healthcare disparities in Maryland.  Dr. Cooper is the founder and director of the Johns Hopkins Center to Eliminate Cardiovascular Health Disparities, a collaboration among the Bloomberg School of Public Health, the School of Medicine, the School of Nursing, and Johns Hopkins Community Physicians.

Dr. Cooper was mentored by Dr. Elijah Saunders when she was a resident at the University of Maryland and by Dr. Levi Watkins during her early years on the faculty at Johns Hopkins. She describes herself as “honored and humbled” to receive this award that bears both their names.
Local press coverage of Dr. Cooper being honored with this award can be seen at the sites listed below.

The Afro, February 27, 2013

The Baltimore Sun, March 10, 2013

Photo of the Watkins-Saunders Award presentation at the 29th Annual Baltimore Heart Ball:

 Watkins-Saunders Award 2013   











Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

© 2016, Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved.
Web policies, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205