Skip Navigation

Welch Center Faculty Members and Trainees Join Delta Omega Honor Society

Dr# DaumitTwo members of the Welch Center core faculty, Dr. Gail Daumit and Dr. Elizabeth Selvin, and two Welch Center trainees, Dr. Lauren Block and Jithin Yohannan, are 2012 inductees into the Alpha Chapter of Delta Omega Society, the honor society in the field of public health. Delta Omega was founded in 1924 at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health (now the Bloomberg School of Public Health) to promote excellence and to recognize accomplishment in scholarship and research. Since the establishment at Johns Hopkins of the Alpha Chapter, the Society has expanded nationally to 59 local chapters with about 6,000 members.

According to their announcement letter, "The Chapter elects students, faculty, and alumni nominated by their peers for their scholarly achievements and contributions to the advancement of public health. Only faculty and alumni meeting the highest academic standards and endorsed by the faculty are eligible
for membership, and only those demonstrating a potential for significant contribution to the field of public
health are elected to the Society. Election to membership in Delta Omega recognizes not only merit
but also encourages further excellence and devotion to public health."

Associate Professor of Medicine Gail Daumit, MD, MHS, is a faculty member in the Division of General Internal Medicine, with joint appointments in the departments of Epidemiology; Health Policy and Management; and Mental Health, all in the Bloomberg School of Public Health. She is also a core faculty member in the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research, as well as the Associate Director of the Welch Center's Predoctoral Clinical Research Training Program.

Associate Professor Elizabeth Selvin, PhD, MPH, is a faculty member of the Department of Epidemiology in the Bloomberg School of Dr. BlockPublic Health, and holds a joint appointment in the Division of
General Internal Medicine in the School of Medicine. She is a core faculty member in the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research and is the Assistant Director of the Department
of Epidemiology's Cardiovascular Training Program.

The new Welch Center student Delta Omega members are Lauren Block, MD, and Jithin Yohannan. Dr. Block is a GIM Fellow and trainee of the Welch Center's Dr. Lisa Cooper and Dr. Jessica Yeh. Her research focuses on cardiovascular disease, HIV/AIDS, comparative effectiveness and health policy. Jithin Yohannan is an MPH student in the Predoctoral Clinical Research Training Program and a trainee of Dr. Gail Daumit. His research interests range from ophthalmology to prospective studies, clinical trials, epidemiology and biostatistical methods.
           Mr. Yohannan
The 2012 Delta Omega Alpha Chapter members will be honored at an induction ceremony at the
Bloomberg School of Public Health on May 15th. Congratulations to Dr. Daumit, Dr. Selvin, Dr. Block and Mr, Yohannan on achieving this distinction!






Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

© 2016, Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved.
Web policies, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205