Skip Navigation

Dr. Lisa Cooper Named an Inaugural Gilman Scholar

Dr. CooperThe Welch Center’s Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH, has been selected as one of only seventeen faculty members throughout the Johns Hopkins University to be named among the initial group of Gilman Scholars. The designation has been initiated by University President Ronald J. Daniels and Provost Lloyd B. Minor to recognize “the very best of the best at The Johns Hopkins University.” Honorees were nominated by their deans or directors, their names recommended to the president by the provost, confirmed by the president and approved by the Board of Trustees last week.

The honor bears the name of Daniel Coit Gilman, the first president of Johns Hopkins University. According to their letter to the University community, the president and provost state that the designation “honors colleagues who exemplify the highest ideals of the university, as demonstrated through distinguished research and scholarship, artistic and creative activity, teaching, mentoring and service.” The Gilman Scholars will then select up to five new members each year, keeping the total number “very limited.” Dr. Cooper’s fellow Gilman Scholars from the School of Medicine are Andrew Feinberg, MD, MPH, Carol Greider, PhD, Bert Vogelstein, MD, and Solomon Snyder, MD, DSc. The title of Gilman Scholars will be retained by its recipients throughout their careers at Johns Hopkins.

Congratulations to Dr. Cooper on her latest honor!


Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

© 2016, Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved.
Web policies, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205