Skip Navigation



  • Andre Ndikuyeze

    I recently retired from the World Health Organization and would like to share my 20 years of experience with former colleagues.

  • Janet Hiller

    Janet Hiller, professor of public health at the University of Adelaide, directs the Adelaide Health Technology Assessment group, which undertakes evaluations to inform reimbursement decisions for pharmaceuticals, medical devices, tests and programs.

    She was recently awarded a National Health and Medical Research Council grant to investigate disinvestment from existing health care interventions that are cost-ineffective or inappropriately applied within health care.

  • Carl Dieffenbach

    Carl W. Dieffenbach was recently appointed as the Director of the Division of AIDS (DAIDS) at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, a component of the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Dieffenbach has been with DAIDS since 1992 and has held a number of senior positions including Associate Director of the Basic Sciences Program from 1994-2007. In 2007, Dr. Dieffenbach agreed to serve as the Acting Director of DAIDS and was officially appointed to the position in July 2008. As the DAIDS Director, Dr. Dieffenbach oversees a billion dollar research portfolio encompassing: 1) fundamental basic laboratory research, 2) discovery and development of therapies and treatment strategies for HIV/AIDS and its co-infections through basic research and clinical trials, and 3) discovery and development of vaccines, topical microbicides, and other prevention strategies through basic research and clinical trials.

  • Patricia O'Campo

    Patricia O'Campo was the 2008 recipient of the Greg Alexander Award for Advancing Knowledge Award-Advancing public health knowledge through epidemiology and applied research. The purpose of this award is to recognize individuals and organizational teams from a variety of disciplines who have made a substantial contribution to advancing the knowledge base aimed at improving the health of women, children and families.

  • Elayne Kornblatt Phillips

    Elayne Kornblatt Phillips received the NIOSH award examining the "Impact of Needlestick Safety & Prevention Act (HR5178) on Hospital Worker Injury"